Best Of Ella Fitzgerald & Louis Armstrong CD

  • Sale

Ships on: June 19, 2024

"Ella Fitzgerald's voice was satin to Louis Armstrong's sandpaper, but when you put them together on a single song, their chemistry was unimpeachable. This disc selects highlights from the three albums they made together at Verve (including their Porgy and Bess), and adds a spiffy live track from the Hollywood Bowl. Though they don't harmonize much (Armstrong's voice wasn't built for harmony), Ella's dignified swing and flashes of teasing wit play off Satchmo's gritty, good-humored roar symbiotically. The material is mostly lightweight Tin Pan Alley stuff (lots of Gershwin, plus the likes of "I've Got My Love to Keep Me Warm"), and they fly it like a kite." --Douglas Wolk.



1. Let's Call The Whole Thing Off 
2. Love Is Here To Stay
3. The Nearness Of You
4. Stars Fell On Alabama
5. Gee, Baby, Ain't I Good To You?
6. They Can't Take That Away From Me
7. Autumn In New York
8. Summertime
9. Tenderly
10. Stompin' At The Savoy
11. Under A Blanket Of Blue
12. I Wants To Stay Here
13. I've Got My Love To Keep Me Warm
14. There's A Boat Dat's Leavin' Soon For New York
15. You Won't Be Satisfied (Until You Break My Heart)